The Storm

The snow was coming down in earnest – and we still had not found a place to take shelter.  I didn’t want to admit it, but I was starting to panic.  Rachel looked bad, staggering as she walked knee deep in the snow.

I didn’t see it at first –a grey smudge against the blinding whiteness of the storm.  As we inched our way closer, my heart leaped when I realised it was a small wooden shack.  It was barely tall enough for us to walk through the doorway,  but it was our best chance.

I should have realised something was wrong.  I had been so cold and numb that I had walked straight in without looking around.  This was a mistake that would haunt my dreams in the weeks and months to come.  Freezing to death would have been much better than the fate that awaited us behind that door.

 

150 words

 

FFfAW Challenge-Week of April 10, 2018

This week’s photo prompt is provided by Yinglan. Thank you Yinglan!

162nd Challenge

Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers

Week of 04-10 through 04-16-2018

2 thoughts on “The Storm

Add yours

    1. The photo prompt was really small and a bit square so I cropped it so it was more rectangular – but only the roof ended up in the image 😀 not exactly how it was meant to be.

      Like

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑