A Grain of Sand

I could feel.

The cool waves lapping against my legs; rippling and swirling.

I could actually feel the water dragging at my knees, an invitation.

How was this even possible?

I blinked and shook my head, pressed the button on my headset and the room dimmed to black.

How long had I been out here?  I had lost track of time as usual, but I needed to be alone.

It wasn’t so bad, if I could just grasp the feeling of what it used to be like on Earth.

I was one of the few who could remember.  I hadn’t met any others, but I knew there were more.

We were watched.

Today the simulation had felt so real, something had changed.  It almost felt like I was actually there.

I bent down to pull my socks back on, and saw something glimmer beside my foot.

A grain of sand.

 

150 words

Written for: Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers

126th Challenge

This week’s photo prompt is provided by TJ Paris. Thank you TJ!

22 thoughts on “A Grain of Sand

Add yours

    1. Thanks! I hadn’t got that far…. I thought maybe somebody high up wanted to send a message to the character that the beach scene was a REALITY – they had been manufacturing a copy of planet earth – based on extracts of people’s memories. *shrug* sounds lame when I say it out loud lol.

      Liked by 2 people

  1. ❤️ anything Sci-Fi, especially with a mystery. Always knew the writer in you was looking to come out.
    Really captivating writing style.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

